Parliamentary Committees comprise Members of the House who perform essential parliamentary functions when the House is in recess. These functions include scrutinizing bills and legislation, oversight public finances and expenditures, investigate government policies and issues and conduct visits or site inspections. A number of parliamentary committees are established under Section 71 of the Bougainville Constitution and Section 159 of the standing orders of the Bougainville House of Representatives further defines the type of committees as Standing, Portfolio and Statutory Committees. Parliamentary committees are supported in Parliament by a secretariat. The secretariat provides the advisory support in terms of parliamentary procedures and practices, secretarial and administrative assistance when coordinating the functions of committees, conduct research and compiling reports.

Close Menu